10 Digital Crimes

Digital crimes” here are defined as offences committed by digital means or in digital ways, i.e. not necessarily against or with the help of the Internet (see KAPO ZH, Department of Cybercrime).

In Switzerland, there are only a few criminal law norms that refer directly to the digital world, e.g. unauthorised data acquisition pursuant to Art. 143 of the Swiss Criminal Code (CC), unauthorised access to a data processing system pursuant to Art. 143bis CC and data corruption pursuant to Art. 144bis CC. However, there are also standards outside the Criminal Code which concern the digital world and the violation of which is also punishable by law. These can be found in particular in the Lauterkeitsgesetz (UCA) (see in detail 07 Competition law in the digital world), e.g. spamming pursuant to Art. 3 para. 1 lit. o UCA and the mandatory references in e-commerce pursuant to Art. 3 para. 1 lit. s UCA, the violation of which is punishable under Art. 23 UCA.

However, for most offences committed in the digital world, the traditional standards that have long been used in the analogue world can be applied. Thus a fraud according to Art. 146 CC in the digital world does not differ in principle from a fraud in the analogue world. In both cases, an essential element is “fraudulent misrepresentation”. Only in the event that the deceived person is not a human being, but a data processing system, there is a special offence in Art. 147 CC.

It would go beyond the scope of this teaching aid to open up here all possible offences which are committed by digital means or by digital means. In the following we take up some of the most common crimes in the digital world.

Hacking

It is difficult to find a general, uniform definition of “hacking”. Based on the corresponding verb in the English language, to hack, we believe that criminal hacking includes unauthorized entry into a computer or network as a primary offence. In this sense, intrusion means that a computer or a network is particularly secure.

In our opinion, hacking in this sense is an offence both in Art. 143 Criminal Code (unauthorized data acquisition) and in Art. 143bis CC (unauthorized intrusion into a data processing system), although case law and doctrine generally speak only of the latter article of the “hacking offence” or “hacking article”.

Pursuant to Art. 143 CC (Unauthorised Data Acquisition), anyone who, with the intention of unjustly enriching himself or another person, acquires data stored or transmitted electronically or in a comparable manner for himself or herself or for another person, which is not intended for him or her and is particularly protected against unauthorised access, is punishable by imprisonment of up to five years or a fine. This is an official offence, i.e. an offence that must be prosecuted officially. The only exception is that unauthorised data collection to the detriment of a relative is only prosecuted on application.

According to Art. 143bis CC (Unauthorised penetration into a data processing system), anyone who unauthorisedly penetrates a third-party data processing system, which is particularly protected against access, by means of data transmission equipment, is punishable by imprisonment of up to three years or a fine. Any person who places on the market or makes accessible passwords, programs or other data which he knows or must assume are to be used for the commission of a criminal offence pursuant to this Article shall be punished by imprisonment of up to three years or a fine.

Art. 143 and 143bis CC differ essentially in that the offender has an intention to enrich the facts of Art. 143 CC, while he penetrates a data processing system without intention to enrich the facts of Art. 143bis CC. The latter is then only a so-called endangerment offence, which is included (consumed) in the application of Art. 143 CC. This can also be seen in the level of penalties, which can be higher in the case of the intention to enrich.

Phishing

The term phishing refers to attempts to access the personal data of an Internet user via fake websites, e-mails or short messages and thus commit identity theft. The aim of fraud is to use the data received to commit account looting, for example, and to harm the person in question. This is a form of social engineering in which the good faith of the victim is exploited. The term is an English artificial word, which is based on fishing, figuratively fishing for passwords with bait. The spelling with Ph- comes from hacker jargon. We have published here an example of phishing, which was aimed at PostFinance customers. Using a fake e-mail with a PostFinance look, the scammers are demanding that the addressees send the corresponding credit card data for a “security procedure” under the pretext that their credit card has been blocked. Typically, phishing e-mails imitate the corporate design of the relevant department, for example using the same company logos, fonts and layouts. As a rule, the addressee is requested to transmit data from credit cards or even e-banking logis, by means of which the fraudsters subsequently make themselves known to the addressees’ assets. (Source: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing).

Prima vista one could think that phishing is a classic fraud according to Art. 146 CC, since in particular the typical element of fraudulent deception is obviously fulfilled. Art. 146 CC, however, additionally demands that the person concerned, based on a corresponding error, damages himself and directly on his own property. This is not the case with phishing, in particular by e-mail or SMS, since the perpetrator carries out the corresponding subsequent actions himself.

According to prevailing doctrine and case law, phishing is generally assessed as fraudulent misuse of a data processing system and the perpetrators are convicted in accordance with Article 147 of the Swiss Criminal Code. Pursuant to Art. 147 of the Swiss Criminal Code, anyone who, with the intention of unlawfully enriching himself or another person, interferes with an electronic or comparable data processing or data transmission process by incorrect, incomplete or unauthorised use of data or in a comparable manner and thereby causes a transfer of assets to the detriment of another person or conceals a transfer of assets immediately thereafter shall be punished.

Password Sharing und Identity Theft

Although nobody talks about it, not even the providers concerned, it most likely happens very often. Particularly within a family and among friends, the access data of Internet services and thus the corresponding digital identity are exchanged (known in the USA as “password sharing”). The question is whether this is permitted under civil law, but also under criminal law. This is determined by the corresponding terms of use. As a rule, these prohibit the disclosure to unauthorized third parties. However, there are also licenses or subscriptions that allow use by several persons. Providers often solve the problem of multiple use technically, for example by restricting simultaneous use to a certain number of devices. A login with another device is therefore not technically possible. If the access data are passed on to unauthorised third parties, this is a breach of contract according to Art. 97 of the Swiss Code of Obligations (CO) and the provider can claim damages in the event of fault. In this case, the terms of use also regularly provide for the account to be blocked. Under criminal law, the unauthorised use of a digital service that is accessible to anyone for a fee is a so-called “obtaining by fraud of a service” pursuant to Art. 150 of the Swiss Criminal Code (CC) (BSK StGB, Weissenberger, Art. 150 StGB, N 41). The offence is on the same criminal level as fare evasion on public transport (which is regulated in the same article). Since the offerers fear probably a negative Publicity, they cut in such a case surely the account off, will probably however rather no announcement give. In any case, I am not aware of any such case in Switzerland. In addition, only the person who uses the foreign identity will be punished, but not the person who passed it on.

Legally far more problematic is the disclosure, theft (identity theft) and unauthorized use of login data for digital services and databases that are only available to a limited circle of users. This generally applies to e-mail servers (in particular BGer 6B_615/2014, 6B_456/2007), but in my opinion also to social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram, as well as access to employer systems where employees can log on. If an intention to enrich exists, this behavior is punishable according to Art. 143 CC, namely by office, to the detriment of relatives only on request. If there is no intention of enrichment, the offence according to Art. 143bis CC (also so-called hacker offence) can only be punished on application. In this context, the disclosure of login data may also be punishable by law.

Data falsification

If data are falsified in digital form, this can be a document falsification according to art. 251 CC. In accordance with this article, a person will be punished if he forges or falsifies a document with the intention of damaging someone’s property or other rights or of obtaining an unlawful advantage for himself or another, forges or falsifies a document, uses another person’s genuine signature or hand signal for the production of a false document or incorrectly notarises or has notarised a legally significant fact or uses a document of this kind for deception. Pursuant to Art. 110 para. 4 CC, documents within the meaning of this article are writs which are intended and suitable to prove a fact of legal significance. Records on image and data carriers are equivalent to the written form if they serve the same purpose. Documents within the meaning of Art. 251 CC thus also include PDF documents and e-mails (BGE 137 IV 168 ff.; BGE 6B_130/2012, Erw. 5.4).

Forbidden depictions of violence and forbidden pornography

Forbidden depictions of violence

Pursuant to Art. 135 of the Swiss Criminal Code, anyone shall be punished who makes sound or picture recordings, illustrations, other objects or demonstrations which, without having any cultural or scientific value worthy of protection, portray cruel acts of violence against humans or animals and in so doing seriously violate, produce, import, store, market, advertise, exhibit, offer, show, make available or make accessible the elementary dignity of the human being, acquires himself or herself by electronic means or otherwise procures or possesses such objects or demonstrations. Possession also exists when the will to rule is expressed by downloading relevant data onto a data carrier, since or insofar as the user indicates that he wants to fall back on these images again. Correctly, however, the acceptance of a possession of images in the cache memory is excluded. According to the Federal Court’s case law on Art. 197, para. 3bis of the German Criminal Code (CC), this includes, for example, providing permanent and unlimited access to a website with prohibited images so that the perpetrator can freely dispose of the data, or leaving an e-mail sent on the perpetrator’s initiative with a criminal data attachment in the input memory. The targeted storage of illegal files, on the other hand, is prohibited (BGE 131 IV 20 ff., Art. 197 No. 3bis StGB; Andreas Donatsch, OFK-StGB, StGB 135 N 11 f.).

Forbidden pornography

Pursuant to Art. 197 of the Swiss Criminal Code, anyone who offers, shows, provides, makes accessible or disseminates by radio or television pornographic writings, sound or image recordings, illustrations, other objects of such kind or pornographic presentations to a person under the age of 16 will be punished. Anyone who informs visitors to exhibitions or demonstrations in closed rooms in advance of their pornographic character remains unpunished. Any person who recruits a minor to participate in a pornographic performance or who induces them to participate in such a performance shall also be punished. In addition, anyone who produces, imports, stores, markets, advertises, exhibits, offers, shows, leaves available, makes available, acquires, procures or possesses himself by electronic means or in any other way by objects or demonstrations in the aforementioned sense which involve sexual acts with animals or violence among adults or which do not actually involve sexual acts with minors shall also be punished. Finally, anyone who imports, stores, acquires, procures or possesses objects or demonstrations in the aforementioned sense that involve, consume or produce for their own use, or otherwise procure or possess objects or demonstrations that involve sexual acts with animals or violence among adults or that do not actually involve sexual acts with minors shall be punished. Minors of more than 16 years of age shall not be liable to prosecution if they produce, possess or consume objects or demonstrations in the aforementioned sense by mutual consent. Objects or performances in the aforementioned sense are not pornographic if they have a cultural or scientific value worthy of protection.

[Further discussion to follow]

Personality disabilities

[Text to follow]

Infringement of intellectual property rights

[Text to follow]

Law enforcement in the digital world

The Achilles’ heel of prosecution in the digital world is prosecution itself. In Switzerland, this is essentially the responsibility of the cantons. However, criminal prosecution in the digital world requires very specific know-how and appropriate technical means. In addition, many crimes in the digital world typically have a foreign dimension. In this respect, smaller cantons in particular are overburdened, even though they are constantly upgrading in this area. After all, they receive support from the Federal Office of Police fedpol (see also www.fedpol.admin.ch/fedpol/de/home/kriminalitaet/cybercrime.html), in particular from its Coordination Unit for Combating Internet Crime (CYCOS) and from the Federal Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI).

10 Digital Crimes

Unter «Digital Crimes» werden hier Delikte verstanden, die mit digitalen Mitteln oder auf digitalen Wegen begangen werden, d.h. also nicht zwingend gegen oder unter Zuhilfenahme des Internets (s. KAPO ZH, Abteilung Cybercrime).

In der Schweiz gibt es nur wenige strafrechtliche Normen, die sich direkt auf die digitale Welt beziehen, so z.B. die unbefugte Datenbeschaffung nach Art. 143 Strafgesetzbuch (StGB), das unbefugte Eindringen in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem gemäss Art. 143bis StGB sowie die Datenbeschädigung nach Art. 144bis StGB. Es gibt aber auch ausserhalb des StGB Normen, die die digitale Welt betreffen und deren Verletzung auch strafbar ist. Diese finden sich inbesondere im Lauterkeitsgesetz (UWG) (s. dazu im Detail 06 Wettbewerbsrecht in der digitalen Welt), so z.B. das Spamming gemäss Art. 3 Abs. 1 lit. o UWG und die zwingenden Hinweise im E-Commerce gemäss Art. 3 Abs. 1 lit. s UWG, deren Verletzung gemäss Art. 23 UWG strafbar sind.

Auf die meisten Delikte, die in der digitalen Welt verübt werden, können jedoch die herkömmlichen, bereits in der analogen Welt seit langem gebrauchten Normen angewendet werden. So unterscheidet sich ein Betrug nach Art. 146 StGB in der digitalen Welt grundsätzlich nicht von einem Betrug in der analogen. Bei beiden ist ein wesentliches Element die «arglistige Irreführung». Nur für den Fall, dass der Irregeführte nicht ein Mensch, sondern eine Datenverarbeitungsanlage ist, gibt es dafür einen speziellen Tatbestand in Art. 147 StGB.

Es würde den Rahmen dieses Lehrmittels sprengen, hier alle möglichen Delikte, die mit digitalen Mitteln oder auf digitalen Wegen begangen werden, zu erötern. Nachfolgend greifen wir somit einige der häufigsten Delikte in der digitalen Welt auf.

Hacking

Es ist schwierig eine allgemeine, einheitliche Definition von «Hacking» zu finden. Basierend auf dem entsprechenden Verb in der englischen Sprache, to hack, also auf etwas einhacken, auf etwas schlagen, sind wir der Meinung, dass das kriminelle Hacking das unbefugte Eindringen in einen Computer oder ein Netzwerk als primärer Tatbestand umfasst. Zum Eindringen in diesem Sinne gehört, dass ein Computer oder ein Netzwerk besonders gesichert ist.

Das Hacking in diesem Sinne ist u.E. sowohl Tatbestand in Art. 143 StGB (Ungefugte Datenbeschaffung), also auch in Art. 143bis StGB (Unbefugtes Eindringen in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem), obwohl Rechtsprechung und Lehre in der Regel nur von letzterem Artikel vom «Hacking-Tatbestand» oder «Hacking-Artikel» sprechen.

Gemäss Art. 143 StGB (Unbefugte Datenbeschaffung) wird mit Freiheitsstrafe bis zu fünf Jahren  oder Geldstrafe bestraft,  wer in der Absicht, sich oder einen anderen unrechtmässig zu bereichern, sich oder einem anderen elektronisch oder in vergleichbarer Weise gespeicherte oder übermittelte Daten beschafft,  die nicht für ihn bestimmt und gegen seinen unbefugtem Zugriff besonders gesichert sind. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Offizialdelikt, also ein Delikt, dass von Amtes wegen verfolgt werden muss. Einzig, die unbefugte Datenbeschaffung zum Nachteil eines Angehörigen wird nur auf Antrag verfolgt.

Nach Art. 143bis StGB (Unbefugtes Eindringen in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem) wird auf Antrag mit Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Jahren oder Geldstrafe bestraft, wer auf dem Wege von Datenübertragungseinrichtungen unbefugterweise in ein fremdes, gegen seinen Zugriff besonders gesichertes Datenverarbeitungssystem eindringt. Wer Passwörter, Programme oder andere Daten, von denen er weiss oder annehmen muss, dass sie zur Begehung einer strafbaren Handlung gemäss dieses Artikels verwendet werden sollen, in Verkehr bringt oder zugänglich macht, wird mit Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Jahren oder Geldstrafe bestraft.

Art. 143 und 143bis StGB unterscheiden sich im Wesentlichen darin, dass der Täter beim Tatbestand von Art. 143 StGB eine Bereicherungsabsicht hat, währenddem er beim Tatbestand von Art. 143bis StGB ohne Bereicherungsabsicht in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem eindringt. Letzteres ist denn auch nur ein sogenannter Gefährdungstatbestand, der bei der Anwendung von Art. 143 StGB miterfasst ist (konsumiert) ist. Das zeigt sich auch beim Strafmass, das bei der Bereicherungsabsicht höher sein kann.

Phishing

Unter dem Begriff Phishing versteht man Versuche, über gefälschte Webseiten, E-Mails oder Kurznachrichten an persönliche Daten eines Internet-Benutzers zu gelangen und damit Identitätsdiebstahl zu begehen. Ziel des Betrugs ist es, mit den erhaltenen Daten beispielsweise Kontoplünderung zu begehen und den entsprechenden Personen zu schaden. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Form des Social Engineering, bei dem die Gutgläubigkeit des Opfers ausgenutzt wird. Der Begriff ist ein englisches Kunstwort, das sich an fishing (Angeln, Fischen), bildlich das Angeln nach Passwörtern mit Ködern, anlehnt. Die Schreibweise mit Ph- entstammt dem Hacker-Jargon. Ein Beispiel von Phishing, das es auf Kunden von PostFinance abgehen hat, haben wir hier publiziert. Mit einem gefälschten E-Mail, das im Look von PostFinance daherkommt, fordern die Betrüger die Adressaten unter dem Vorwand, deren Kreditkarte sei gesperrt worden, für eine «Sicherheitsprozedur» die entsprechenden Kreditkarten-Daten zu übermitteln. Typischerweise wird in entsprechenden Phishing-Mails das Corporate Design der betroffenen Stelle nachgeahmt, so werden etwa dieselben Firmenlogos, Schriftarten und Layouts verwendet. Der Adressat wird in der Regel aufgefordert, Daten von Kreditkarten oder sogar E-Banking-Logis zu übermitteln, mittels derer sich die Betrüger in der Folge an das Vermögen der Adressaten machen. (Quelle: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing).

Prima vista könnte man meinen, dass es sich beim Phishing um einen klassischen Betrug nach Art. 146 StGB handelt, da insbesondere das typische Tatbestandsmerkmal der arglistigen Täuschung offensichtlich erfüllt ist. Art. 146 StGB verlangt jedoch zusätzlich, dass der Betroffene sich basierend auf einem entsprechenden Irrtum selbst und umittelbar am eigenen Vermögen schädigt. Dies ist beim Phishing, inbesondere auf dem Wege von E-Mails oder SMS gerade nicht gegeben, da ja der Täter die entsprechenden Folgehandlungen selber vornimmt.

Gemäss herrschender Lehre und Rechtsprechung wird das Phishing in der Regel als betrügerischer Missbrauch einer Datenverarbeitungsanlage taxiert und die entsprechenden Täter nach Art. 147 StGB verurteilt. Gemäss Art. 147 StGB wird bestraft, wer in der Absicht, sich oder einen andern unrechtmässig zu bereichern, durch unrichtige, unvollständige oder unbefugte Verwendung von Daten oder in vergleichbarer Weise auf einem elektronischen oder vergleichbaren Datenverarbeitungs- oder Datenübermittlungsvorgang einwirkt und dadurch eine Vermögensverschiebung zum Schaden eines andern herbeiführtoder eine Vermögensverschiebung unmittelbar darnach verdeckt.

Password Sharing und Identity Theft

Obwohl niemand darüber spricht, nicht einmal die betroffenen Anbieter, passiert es sehr wahrscheinlich sehr häufig. Insbesondere innerhalb einer Familie und unter Freunden werden die Zugangsdaten von Internetdiensten und damit die entsprechende digitiale Identität getauscht (in den USA bekannt unter dem Begriff des «Password Sharing»). Da fragt sich, ob dies zivilrechtlich, aber auch strafrechtlich überhaupt erlaubt ist. Dafür bestimmend sind die entsprechenden Nutzungsbedigungen. In der Regel verbieten diese die Weitergabe an unbefugte Dritte. Es gibt aber auch Lizenzen bzw. Abos, die eine Nutzung durch mehrere Personen zulassen. Die Anbieter lösen das Problem der Mehrfachnutzung häufig technisch, indem sie z.B. die gleichzeitige Nutzung auf eine bestimmte Anzahl von Geräten beschränken. Ein Login mit einem weiteren Gerät ist damit schon technisch nicht möglich. Werden die Zugangsdaten an unbefugte Dritte weitergegeben, ist dies eine Vertragsverletzung nach Art. 97 des Obligationenrechts (OR) und der Anbieter kann bei Verschulden Schadenersatz verlangen. Die Nutzungsbedigungen sehen für diesen Fall auch regelmässig die Sperrung des Accounts vor. Strafrechtlich ist die unbefugte Nutzung einer digitalen Leistung, die jedermann gegen Entgelt zugänglich ist, ein sogenanntes «Erschleichen einer Leistung» nach Art. 150 des Strafgesetzbuches (StGB) (BSK StGB, Weissenberger, Art. 150 StGB, N 41). Das Delikt befindet sich auf der gleichen strafrechtlichen Stufe, wie das Schwarzfahren bei öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln (das im gleichen Artikel geregelt ist). Da die Anbieter wohl eine negative Publicity befürchten, kappen sie in einem solchen Fall sicherlich den Account, werden aber wohl eher keine Anzeige erstatten. Mir ist auf jeden Fall kein entsprechender Fall in der Schweiz bekannt. Bestraft wird zudem lediglich derjenige, der die fremde Identität nutzt, jedoch nicht derjenige, der diese weitergegeben hat.

Rechtlich weitaus problematischer ist die Weitergabe, der Diebstahl (Identity Theft) und das unbefugte Verwenden von Login-Daten zu digitalen Dienstleistungen und Datenbanken, die nur einem beschränkten Kreis von Nutzern zur Verfügung stehen. Dies trifft generell auf E-Mail-Server zu (insb. BGer 6B_615/2014, 6B_456/2007), m.E. aber auch auf Socialmedia-Plattformen, wie Facebook und Instagram, wie auch auf Zugänge zu Systemen von Arbeitgebern, bei denen sich sich Mitarbeitende einloggen können. Falls eine Bereicherungsabsicht besteht, ist dieses Verhalten m.E. nach Art. 143 StGB strafbar, und zwar von Amtes wegen, zum Nachteil von Angehörigen nur auf Antrag. Besteht keine Bereicherungsabsicht, kann die Tat nach Art. 143bis StGB (auch sog. Hacker-Tatbestand) nur auf Antrag bestraft werden. In diesem Kontext kann auch die Weitergabe von Login-Daten strafbar sein, und zwar von Amtes wegen.

Datenfälschung

Werden Daten in digitaler Form gefälscht, kann dies eine Urkundenfälschung nach Art. 251 StGB sein. Gemäss diesem Artikel wird bestraft, wer in der Absicht, jemanden am Vermögen oder an andern Rechten zu schädigen oder sich oder einem andern einen unrechtmässigen Vorteil zu verschaffen, eine Urkunde fälscht oder verfälscht, die echte Unterschrift oder das echte Handzeichen eines andern zur Herstellung einer unechten Urkunde benützt oder eine rechtlich erhebliche Tatsache unrichtig beurkundet oder beurkunden lässt oder eine Urkunde dieser Art zur Täuschung gebraucht. Gemäss Art. 110 Abs. 4 StGB sind Urkunden im Sinne dieses Artikels Schriften, die bestimmt und geeignet sind, eine Tatsache von rechtlicher Bedeutung zu beweisen. Dabei stehen der Schriftform Aufzeichnungen auf Bild- und Datenträgern gleich, sofern sie demselben Zweck dienen. Urkunden im Sinne von Art. 251 StGB sind damit u.a. auch PDF-Dokumente und E-Mails (BGE 137 IV 168 ff.; BGE 6B_130/2012, Erw. 5.4).

Verbotene Gewaltdarstellungen und verbotene Pornografie

Verbotene Gewaltdarstellungen

Gemäss Art. 135 StGB wird bestraft, wer Ton- oder Bildaufnahmen, Abbildungen, andere Gegenstände oder Vorführungen, die, ohne schutzwürdigen kulturellen oder wissenschaftlichen Wert zu haben, grausame Gewalttätigkeiten gegen Menschen oder Tiere eindringlich darstellen und dabei die elementare Würde des Menschen in schwerer Weise verletzen, herstellt, einführt, lagert, in Verkehr bringt, anpreist, ausstellt, anbietet, zeigt, überlässt oder zugänglich macht, erwirbt, sich über elektronische Mittel oder sonst wie beschafft oder besitzt. Besitz liegt auch vor, wenn der Herrschaftswillen durch Download einschlägiger Daten auf einen Datenträger zum Ausdruck gebracht wird, da bzw. soweit der User ddamit zu erkennen gibt, dass er auf diese Bilder wieder zurückgreifen will. Richtigerweise ist jedoch die Annahme eines Besitzes von Bildern im Cache-Speicher ausgeschlossen. Beschaffen ist nach der bundesgerichtlichen Rechtsprechung zu Art. 197 Ziff. 3bis StGB z.B. das Verschaffen eines dauernden und unbeschränkten Zugangs zu einer Website mit verbotenen Darstellungen, sodass der Täter über die Daten frei verfügen kann, oder das Belassen eines auf Täterinitiative zugesandten E-Mails mit strafbaren Datenanhang im Eingangsspeicher. Gezieltes abspeichern illegaler Dateien ist hingegen herstellen (BGE 131 IV 20 ff., zu Art. 197 Ziff. 3bis StGB; Andreas Donatsch, OFK-StGB, StGB 135 N 11 f.).

Verbotene Pornografie

Nach Art. 197 StGB wird u.a. bestraft, wer pornografische Schriften, Ton- oder Bildaufnahmen, Abbildungen, andere Gegenstände solcher Art oder pornografische Vorführungen einer Person unter 16 Jahren anbietet, zeigt, überlässt, zugänglich macht oder durch Radio oder Fernsehen verbreitet. Wer die Besucher von Ausstellungen oder Vorführungen in geschlossenen Räumen im Voraus auf deren pornografischen Charakter hinweist, bleibt straflos. Ebenfalls wird bestraft, wer eine minderjährige Person anwirbt, damit diese an einer pornografischen Vorführung mitwirkt, oder wer sie zur Mitwirkung an einer derartigen Vorführung veranlasst. Zudem wird bestraft, wer Gegenstände oder Vorführungen im genannten Sinne, die sexuelle Handlungen mit Tieren oder mit Gewalttätigkeiten unter Erwachsenen oder nicht tatsächliche sexuelle Handlungen mit Minderjährigen zum Inhalt haben, herstellt, einführt, lagert, in Verkehr bringt, anpreist, ausstellt, anbietet, zeigt, überlässt, zugänglich macht, erwirbt, sich über elektronische Mittel oder sonst wie beschafft oder besitzt. Schlussendlich wird bestraft, wer Gegenstände oder Vorführungen im genannten Sinne, die sexuelle Handlungen mit Tieren oder mit Gewalttätigkeiten unter Erwachsenen oder nicht tatsächliche sexuelle Handlungen mit Minderjährigen zum Inhalt haben, konsumiert oder zum eigenen Konsum herstellt, einführt, lagert, erwirbt, sich über elektronische Mittel oder sonst wie beschafft oder besitzt. Minderjährige von mehr als 16 Jahren bleiben straflos, wenn sie voneinander einvernehmlich Gegenstände oder Vorführungen im genannten Sinne herstellen, diese besitzen oder konsumieren. Gegenstände oder Vorführungen im genannten Sinne sind nicht pornografisch, wenn sie einen schutzwürdigen kulturellen oder wissenschaftlichen Wert haben.

[Weitere Erörterungen folgen]

Persönlichkeitsverletzungen

[Text folgt]

Verletzung von Immaterialgüterrechten

[Text folgt]

Strafverfolgung in der digitalen Welt

Die Achillesferse der Verfolgung von Delikten in der digitalen Welt ist die Strafverfolgung selber. Denn diese obliegt in der Schweiz im Wesentlichen den Kantonen. Strafverfolgung in der digitalen Welt verlangt aber nach ganz spezifischem Know-how sowie entsprechender technischer Mittel. Zudem haben viele Delikte in der digitalen Welt typischerweise einen Auslandbezug. Diesbezüglich sind insbesondere kleinere Kantone überfordert, auch wenn auch diese in diesem Bereich laufend aufrüsten. Immerhin erhalten sie vom Bundesamt für Polizei fedpol (s. auch www.fedpol.admin.ch/fedpol/de/home/kriminalitaet/cybercrime.html), insbesondere auch von deren Koordinationsstelle zur Bekämpfung der Internetkriminalität (KOBIK) sowie von der Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung MELANI des Bundes Unterstützung.